J started our basement remodel this weekend. It’s going to be a long process. Probably a very long process. But that doesn’t stop me from dreaming about the finished product. The basement is one large room with a brick wall on one end and a bar under the stairs. (I looked for pictures, but I couldn’t find any.) It also has wood floors, wainscoting, plus a old-school wooden hot tub and a rickety tin ceiling, both of which will be torn out. We’re planning on making it our main hang-out space, and we know some of the things we want (comfy couch, big screen tv, popcorn machine, pub table), but I can’t decide on how I want it to look. Right now I keep going back and forth between two options:

*source*

Of course our basement doesn’t have the big windows that this room has, but I think all the white would really brighten the room. However, it may not be the most practical option for the inevitable bar-related spills and regular use by the pups.

The second look is closer to the J-approved aesthetic.

*source*

I think it would work well, but I’m a little concerned that it’s too modern for our 1920 house. So, I guess it’s a good thing all of  our projects take forever to finish; that way I’ll have plenty of time to decide.

Any opinions/suggestions/ideas?

