**I actually wrote this last week, but just realized today that it never published. I’m not sure what the deal was, but I’m sharing it with you now!**

Spring is here! And not a moment too soon. The weather has been absolutely gorgeous here lately, and I am loving every minute of it. I’ve been spending as much time as possible outdoors. We’ve started some of our yard work, preparing the beds, clearing leftover leaves and twigs from the lawn, trimming some trees and bushes. Our yard can be a little overwhelming at times, and the growing things, both wanted and unwanted, can very quickly get out of hand. So we’re starting earlier this year and hoping that we’ll do a better job of managing everything than we did last year.

April is also the month when I usually assess our “green” status. I think about areas where we may have slipped over the year and new things we could be doing to live more earth-friendly. It’s been on my mind a lot lately, and it’s something I’m hoping to share with you over the next few weeks. Maybe together we can learn and grow, becoming more conscious of how our actions affect the earth. Would you like that?

In the mean time I wanted to share a site and store I recently stumbled upon. It’s called The Victory Garden of Tomorrow, and it’s an art project created by Joe Wirtheim. Here’s what it says on his website:

“VGoT is an art project posing as a propaganda campaign for new, American homefront values. The message style draws from American mid-century homefront propaganda, and the messages essentially draws from 21st century needs as found in the current environmental sustainability movement. The campaign is designed to access America’s history of ingenuity to overcome adversity, and apply those values to fighting modern problems.”

Very cool idea, and amazing results! I’m thinking a set of four would look great in my kitchen. See more of the available prints in Joe’s shop.

