As some of you may know, J started a new job this year, one where he is an actual employee and where he gets all the many benefits that go along with being an employee (versus being self-employed as he has been for many years previous to this one). One of those perks is the company Christmas party. We’ve never been to one before, and we’re both kind of excited. Plus, it falls on the day before my birthday, so we figure we might as well go all out and make an event of it. That means a puppy-sitter, a hotel downtown (the party will be held here), and breakfast at the cafe of my choice the next morning. Woohoo! (I’m very easily pleased, really.)

According to J, the dress code is “optionally fancy.” Which apparently means that you can dress up or not and that some people do and others don’t. I say, take the opportunity to get all fancied up when it presents itself (which is rarely for us). So, I need a new dress. I’ve been doing some online window shopping, but I can’t make up my mind. There are several stipulations to my searching, like price for one (it has to be cheap, like around $50 cheap), and it has to be comfortable. Oh, and it has to keep me warm because it’ll be December in Indiana. Here’s what I’ve found so far:

(from here)

It’s definitely cute, and looks comfortable. Plus it’s a wool blend, so it should be warm. And at $54 it’s certainly affordable. The downside is that it’s gray, and I was really wanting something with some color. Though I’d be sure to get some future use out of a classic gray dress.

(from here)

I really like this one. I love the vintage feel of it, and the color is beautiful. But it’s slightly more expensive ($69.99) and I’d have to order it (there’s a local store that carries the other one).

What do you think? Any suggestions? I need to make a trip to the mall and try some things on, but ugh, holiday shoppers. (yeah, yeah, I know, bah humbug.) I’d seriously love any help you guys can give me!

