Today marks the start of Sesame Street’s 40th season! Wow. I’m sure many of you can relate when I say that Sesame Street played a huge role in my childhood. I loved that show (and secretly still do).

I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this here before, but I have a twin brother who is developmentally disabled. Watching Sesame Street was his favorite part of the day (he used to throw a fit if we forgot to turn it on for him), so not only did I watch during my childhood, but Sesame Street was a constant in our home the entire time I lived there. As were the sing-along tapes and Follow That Bird and story books and stuffed animals. And the show only got better as I grew older and understood more of the humor (that really is aimed at adults).

Even though the show has changed significantly since I left my parent’s house, it continues to be as entertaining and educational as ever. It almost makes we want to have kids so that I have an excuse to watch it again (almost, but not quite – sorry mom). I wanted to leave you with one of my favorite skits from the show, but it was incredibly hard to choose just one, so here are a couple that came to mind. Enjoy!

Bert and Ernie crack me up.

I think of this one every time I have to remember something.

Oh, there are so many more! What’s your favorite part of Sesame Street?

