On Saturday, J and I had some friends of ours over for dinner. I made my standard herb roasted chicken recipe and added some veggies to the pan for a convenient one-dish meal. Despite some cook-time issues (due to a generous supply of this), the meal turned out great – perfect for a chilly fall night. Since our friends also spent the night (a wise choice considering the aforementioned generous supply), I made us all breakfast in the morning. I had recently come into possession of a Delicata squash, a vegetable I had never dealt with before, and in my search for ways to prepare the squash, I found this recipe for bacon squash browns. It seemed too interesting not to try, so I served it with scrambled eggs, biscuits and pear plum jam (homemade! but more on that later), and more bacon. The verdict: it was surprisingly good, though I was disappointed in the yield (maybe I had an unusually small squash?). I’m not sure if I’ll ever try it again, but it certainly inspired me to think creatively about squash in the future.

Because of the large amount of bacon involved in the meal, the meat played a big part in our table conversation. There was a short discussion of turkey v. pork, and then we began pointing out the numerous bacon-inspired products on the market these days. It seems to be some kind of trend which our friends seemed largely ignorant of. So in honor of our fun, friend-filled bacony weekend, and in order to dissolve any doubt on the issue, I’ve decided to highlight a few of the products I’ve seen popping up here and there. Here’s to bacon-lovers everywhere!

Bacon Bandages

Bacon Wallet

Bacon Floss

Bacon Soap

Bacon Jelly Beans

Bacon Air Freshener

Bacon Mints

Bacon Lip Balm

Still craving more bacon? Try bacon gumballs, gummy bacon, bacon toothpicks, bacon chocolate, bacon vodka, and even a bacon board game. There are so, so many more, but I can feel my arteries hardening just looking at this stuff, so I’m going to leave the rest to your imagination (or googling skills).

