I spent most of last week on the couch trying to recover from a horrible head cold, and when I’m not feeling well, I’m pretty picky about the food I eat. And I don’t mean picky in the way that I’ll only eat super-healthy things in order to boost my immune system and bring on a quick recovery, oh no. I mean picky in the way that I only want the mostly horrible-for-you food that I ate when I was younger: mac-n-cheese-n-corn (mixed together), frozen pizza and cream soda, hamburger helper cheeseburger macaroni, and sloppy joes (or sloppy cheeses). J likes to refer to these meals as my trailer trash menu, but to me they just mean the comfort of being home with a mom to take care of you.

Growing up, there were only two meals that my mom made that I detested. One was economy burgers (basically meatloaf patties that she cooked under the broiler) and tuna tetrazzini (usually from a box). It’s funny how tastes change as you grow older, because last week all I could think about making was tuna tetrazzini. Since we didn’t have any tuna (and I was in no shape to go to the store) I decided to try making a turkey tetrazzini (turkey being something we had lots of post-ThanksMas). It turned out great. Oh the joys of a casserole! So easy to throw together using whatever you happen to have on hand. Here’s my thrown-together recipe; feel free to make substitutions based on the contents of your pantry.

turkey-tetrazzini

Turkey Tetrazzini

2 c. cooked turkey, diced

8 oz. pasta (I used macaroni, but any pasta will do)

1 small onion, diced

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 c. sour cream

1 c. shredded cheddar (or your cheese of choice)

1c. French’s onions

Preheat oven to 350*. Boil pasta according to package directions, drain, and set aside. Heat 1 T. oil or butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion (if you choose to add any other vegetable, such as mushrooms or celery, do so now) and cook until tender. Add turkey, soup, and sour cream to skillet. Stir to combine and remove from heat. In a large casserole dish mix pasta and turkey mixture until well-combined. Sprinkle cheese and fried onions on top, and bake for 30 – 40 minutes, or until top is lightly browned and contents are bubbly. Enjoy!

turkey-tetrazzini2

