Hi there! I hope all of you had a wonderful weekend. Ours was actually quite nice.

Of course Halloween was Friday. I don’t really get into the holiday (no costumes or decoration), but I did decide to hand out treats again this year. I made up little bags with a spooky pencil, eraser, and a bag of fruit snacks in each. There was no candy to tempt me this year, and despite J’s fears, no one egged or TP’ed our house for it.  The evening passed without much controversy…though J did have to shoo away a pesky family that parked out in front of our house. After they’d made their rounds they sat on the hood of their car digging into their booty and throwing any undesirable treats and their wrappers into the surrounding yards. All of which would have almost been tolerable until one of the decided to urinate in the neighbor’s lawn. That was more than J could bear. He went out and told the kids to pick up their mess and then asked them to leave if they couldn’t respect others’ property…which they did…leave, that is.

Other than that, we had a very nice evening. J built a fire in the fire pit outside and we all spent the majority of our weekend out there. I had a new book to keep me company.

And the last of my favorite summer beverage.

While the dogs occupied themselves with whatever they could scrounge from the wood pile.

Of course, there were also hot dogs and s’mores…’cause who can sit in front of a fire and not roast up something tasty (so much for not having sweets to tempt me).

Saturday and Sunday were spent taking care of some household chores. There was some painting, a little mulching, and some woodpecker hole filling (in our wood siding). We managed to break away from all that for an hour or two to make a trip to the local parks. The weather was gorgeous and I’d been wanting to search out some acorns…apparently I wasn’t the only one.

It was nice to get out of the house with the dogs. I’m afraid they don’t get to explore other green spaces nearly often enough.

Finally, last night J and I went to a new open mic at the Old Town Ale House. It was a lot of fun. The food was great and they have an impressive beer selection. Overall it was a much better atmosphere than the open mic we used to go to. I’m sure we’ll be going back every week we’re able to.

That pretty much sums up my weekend. How did you spend yours?

