When we decided to buy this house, one of the things I loved most about it was (and still is) the amount of storage space it has. There are closets everywhere! It’s an organization-obsessed person’s dream. That’s why I am so ashamed to have to admit that I have made very poor use of what I’ve been given. I’ve written about this problem before, and despite my best intentions, I haven’t made much of a dent in the organizational nightmare that is our home. But I am determined to change! So when I sat down last night to spend a few minutes with my much-neglected magazine pile, I nearly leaped out of my seat upon seeing the cover of June’s Real Simple Magazine. “99 Low-Cost Organizing Ideas” – Perfect! (You can read the article here.) And since there’s no better way to keep myself honest and motivated than by posting something here (so that the guilt of not following through is unbearable) I’ve decided to share a few of my favorites from and inspired by the list:

For some time now I have been looking for a dry goods storage system like the Tupperware version my mom always had…you know, stackable, clear plastic containers with airtight lids for flour, sugar, nuts, pasta, etc. At this point you’re probably wondering, “Why doesn’t she just buy Tupperware?” Well, I would gladly buy Tupperware, but you can only buy sets with blue or red lids, neither of which would match my kitchen…and yes, J if you’re reading this, things like that most certainly do matter. But finally, thanks to Real Simple, I think I may have found what I’ve been searching for – Oxo POP Containers. Granted, they cost a little more than I had hoped to have to spend, but at this point, I’m just happy to find something that matches all my criteria (square, stackable, comes in a plethora of sizes, and has lids that are not decor specific).

J can attest to the fact that this in-drawer spice rack from Brylane Home should be at the top of our shopping list.

This will be the perfect solution to my jumbled bakeware cabinet: a MadeSmart bakeware holder from Sears. Who knew there was such a perfect way to store all those muffin tins and cake pans that never seem to stack together?!

I bought one of these Simple Human grocery bag trash cans a while back and love it! But I hadn’t seen this version before today. So convenient! I think I might need one for the bathroom.

I’m definitely ordering a couple of these cable turtles for the office (once it’s finally finished). There are few things I hate more than the piles of tangled cables that inevitably end up cluttering the area around any computer desk.

Last but not least, I love the idea of having a charging station for all our electronic gadgets in the mudroom, and although I’m not sure this one is the perfect one for our needs, I do love that it comes in green.

I hope these things inspire all of you to do a little spring organizing in your own homes – And if you do, I’d love to hear about it!

