I’ve been making this recipe since I was in junior high, and it’s been a family favorite ever since. The original is from a 1985 church cookbook; the copy I own was my grandmother’s. I’ve changed the recipe a bit over the years, but the original name still applies.

Best Ever Banana Bread

2 ripe bananas, mashed

2 eggs

1 1/2 c. sugar

1/2 c. oil (any oil suitable for baking will work; lately I prefer coconut oil)

1/4 c. plus 1 T. milk

1 tsp. vanilla

1 3/4 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 c. chopped walnuts (optional)

1) Preheat your oven to 325* and grease and flour a 5 x 9 loaf pan.

2) In a large mixing bowl, combine the bananas, eggs, sugar, and oil. Add the vanilla and buttermilk.

3) In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Sift into the sugar mixture and stir just until combined. You may add the walnuts at this point if you wish.

4) Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake for 1 hour 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

5) Enjoy!

