The Motherload

I think I’m addicted. I can’t help it. Despite the known environmental impact and the potential organizational stumbling block, I can’t stop subscribing to magazines and catalogs. I love them. I love the elated feeling I get when I open the mailbox and see stacks of beautiful images staring back at me. I love the hours I spend pouring over the pages with a good cup of coffee (or four). And I love the overabundance of inspirational wonder that comes with an exclamation of “I could do that!” and the intention to actually follow through with that remark. Which is why I can’t ever just throw them away. Someday I know I’ll want to recreate that old-door-turned-headboard and will need the picture and step-by-step instructions to do so.

This morning I was in need of a little bit of that magic, so I poured myself a cup and sat down with this week’s bounty. It turned out to be just what the proverbial doctor ordered. I now feel revitalized and inspired, ready to lose that last ten pounds (to fit into this…and this…and maybe this) and start doing all those decorating projects I’ve been thinking about (and putting off) for months. If only I could feel this way all the time, maybe I’d actually finish the projects I start!

