(I actually wrote this post last week, but forgot to publish it – I can be so forgetful sometimes! Anyway, I still wanted to share it with you, so here it is. And I’m sorry for the long absence, but I should have another post up by tomorrow! ~K )

2008 Calendar

I was going to write a post about how I don’t do New Year’s resolutions, and how they don’t really work. But as I started to type I realized that I kinda do make resolutions, and so far, some have stuck with me. Blogging, for instance, was a kind of resolution for me this year, and although I haven’t written as often as I’d hoped I would (you know me, always the optimist?) I have posted more than once a week since I started, which is a record I’m quite happy with at the moment.

The problem with resolutions is that they too easily become a source of disappointment for me. I have grand notions of being able to magically accomplish something in one month that I haven’t been able to do for the last 12 (if not longer). And when I can’t, I feel as though I’ve failed – and I’m hard enough on myself as it is without having to create reasons to disappoint myself. So at the very least, I will say that I make resolutions with some degree of trepidation.

That being said, I have been making an effort to be more organized (which, as far as resolutions go, seems to be right up there with “lose weight” and “stop smoking”). I assumed that when we moved into a bigger house, it would be easier for me to keep things fairly well-organized, but that hasn’t been the case. I find the amount of space overwhelming, and being borderline obsessive-compulsive when it comes to organization (for which I can thank my Grandma B – the organization queen), I cannot allow myself to do things half-way. So I do my best to take baby steps, organizing on a micro scale, hoping that it will eventually lead to a meticulously organized home.

This is my most recent attempt at micro-organizing:

Coupon File

It’s a small pocket file that I’ve been using for coupons – yes, that’s right, I said coupons. You can make fun of me all you want, but I have no problem being one of those annoying people in the grocery checkout holding up the entire line just so I can save $1.50…Anyway…I had always struggled with a way of having my coupons readily available to me in the store without having to purchase an ugly plastic and velcro organizer made for the purpose. So when I saw this at Barnes and Noble, I snatched it up. It has a small pad of paper and a pencil on one side, perfect for making lists,…

Coupon File 2

…and a small accordian file on the other, which I have labeled with various grocery categories…

Coupon File 3

…all in a case small enough to fit easily in my purse. I’m very happy with my purchase. It’s small organizational triumphs like this that will motivate me to tackle the larger organizational nightmares…like my laundry room – EEK!

